Vanity v.s Beauty

I don’t need my friends to tell me to my face that I am pretty and have the best this or that.

I don’t need my boyfriend to tell me that I am perfect.

I don’t need my family to tell me I am looking great.

No I have me to tell myself, because I KNOW I look pretty, not flawless pretty, but just natural pretty I guess you can call it.

Yea you’re probably thinking “wow what a cocky little bitch

NO, you see it doesn’t matter how many times someone goes up to you and says “you’re hot, you’re beautiful, you’re SO pretty” because it will never count if you don’t think so yourself. I use to ignore mirrors, maybe just glance in the morning when brushing my teeth to make sure there good or to fix my hair. I never sat down and just stared, but the day I did that, I was like wow, I have great skin, beautiful eyes I am grateful for, straight teeth, soft shiny brown hair and a pretty straight nose, I am really pretty.

So why avoid mirrors all this time if I noticed this, I was avoiding the other side, vanity. I was scared to become some narcissistic asshole. I was afraid of missing things instead of staring at my own reflections. Things can happen in the blink of an eye. So what if I missed something because I was to worried about my face being a mess or I just needed to make sure I was still pretty?  I am who I am and one thing I am certain of is that I am not rich. Can’t change my image from head to toe.  I am happy with the way I am, of course there are some tweaks here and there but I can only go so far to be satisfied. You become obssesed with yourself, and only you. And those around you can’t stand you anymore.

“GET THE FUCK OVER YOURSELF!” (they probably would say)

So when vanity v.s beauty there is only one that is true to it’s meaning. If you think you are beautiful that’s great, because it is what you should think.

Vanity v.s Beauty

Leave a Reply

