Ashamed of what?

I don’t understand people sometimes, maybe it is just me. I understand everyone has something they are ashamed of, something they fear will escape them. I have recently started wondering why is one thing people hide from is their culture. In this past month I have met two people already who are just ashamed to be known as Mexican, what a shame because it is such a rich historic culture, sourrounded by art and music and architecture. I suppose it all comes down to what the world we live in has classified us. That stereo type we fall under, the stereo type some of us fight so hard to avoid. I know I have had problems trying to fit in growing up; do I hang out with all the “American Kids” I mean I look like them, I dress like them, but I don’t feel like them, and on the other hand, I don’t look “hispanic” I didn’t really dress much, but I enjoyed my conversations with them, practicing my native language. Fitting in is hard, but everything seems easier when you just learn to accept who you are and gain the people you need around you. 

I started talking to a boy when he told me his name he made a face and said “Ugh I hate my name, it is so Mexican” and all I could say was “If you want a super Mexican name, that shit be in Aztec or Mayan”

I have never been ashamed to hide where my parents came from, where my roots are, I love embracing them, it has made me who I am.

I don’t think I have ever been more insight with myself than I was after I read the Labyrinth of Soulitude by Octavio Paz.

It is always difficult to give oneself up; few persons anywhere ever succeed in doing so, and even fewer transcend the possessive stage to know love for what it actually is: a perpetual discovery, and immersion in the waters of reality, an unending re-creation.”
Octavio Paz, The Labyrinth of Solitude and Other Writings

This is the book that really opened my eyes… A recommendation for my fellow Mexicans and people all over really.

Embrace your roots, because you always need a place to fall back to when you seem to have lost yourself in this chaos.

Ashamed of what?

Leave a Reply

